Albert L. Waldo, MD, PhD (Hon)

Albert L. Waldo, M.D is The Walter H. Pritchard Professor of Cardiology, Professor of Medicine, and Professor of Biomedical Engineering at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, Cleveland, Ohio. He is also Associate Chief of Cardiovascular Medicine for Academic Affairs at University Hospitals Case Medical Center. Dr. Waldo received his MD from the State University of New York College of Medicine, Downstate; and completed his postdoctoral fellowships in cardiology and cardiac electrophysiology at Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center in New York City. He is a founding member and past president of the North American Society of Pacing and Electrophysiology (NASPE), now called the Heart Rhythm Society (HRS); and has served as president of the Cardiac Electrophysiology Society, and the Ohio Chapter of the American College of Cardiology (ACC). He is a fellow of the ACC, HRS, American Heart Association, American College of Physicians, and American College of Chest Physicians. He is a member of several distinguished organizations, including the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the Association of American Physicians, the Association of University Cardiologists, and the American Physiological Society, among others.

Dr. Waldo’s research in the field of cardiac arrhythmias is well known. He has over 400 publications, and in 1997, one of his articles (Waldo AL, et al. Demonstration of the mechanism of transient entrainment of ventricular tachycardia with rapid atrial pacing. J Am Coll Cardiol. 1984;3:422-430) was selected by the ACC as one of 14 historical articles (influential articles previously published in ACC Journals) as part of the College’s 50th Anniversary Commemoration. He has participated in numerous clinical trials (70), including serving on steering committees, executive committees, planning committees, data and safety monitoring boards, or as principal investigator. In 1997, he received the Distinguished Scientist Award from NASPE, and in 2009, he received the Distinguished Scientist Award (Translational Domain) from the ACC. He has received both The William Dock Master Teacher Award in Medicine (2002) and the Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award (2012) from his medical school; an Award for Achievements in Clinical and Experimental Cardiology from The Foundation Hartsvrienden RESCAR of The Netherlands (2003); a Lifetime Achievement Award from the University of California San Francisco Faculty in Electrocardiography and Arrhythmia Studies (2003); the Outstanding Achievement Award from the European Cardiac Arrhythmia Society (ECAS) (2006), the first Founders Lectureship Award from HRS (2007); the Michel Mirowski, MD Award of Excellence in the Field of Clinical Cardiology and Electrophysiology (2007); the University Hospitals Case Medical Center Society of 1866 Distinguished Physician Award (2012); the Pioneer in Cardiac Pacing and Electrophysiology Award from HRS (2013); the Kansas University Pioneer in Electrophysiology Award (2013); the Academy of Medicine of Cleveland & Northern Ohio Special Honors Award (2014), an honorary PhD degree from the University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine (2014), the Philippe Coumel Lecture (ECAS) (2015), and the Maurice Saltzman Award from the Mt. Sinai Health Care Foundation (2015), amongst others.

Dr. Waldo’s extensive public service has included: committee membership on the National Institutes of Health/National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute’s Cardiovascular A and B Study Sections, and the Electrical Signaling, Ion Transport, and Arrhythmias (ESTA) Study Section; the American Medical Association’s Diagnostic and Therapeutic Technology Assessment Program, and numerous committees of the ACC (including the Board of Governors), the AHA, and HRS/NASPE (including the Board of Trustees); consultant to the Circulatory System Devices Panel of the Medical Devices Advisory Committee of the FDA; and membership on the editorial boards of most peer reviewed journals in the field, including Circulation, J Am Coll Cardiol, Am J Cardiol, Pacing Clin Electrophysiol, J Cardiovasc Electrophysiol, J Electrocardiol, Heart Rhythm, Clin Cardiol, the audio journals of the ACC (ACCEL), and NASPETapes (of which he was editor-in-chief).